Xlate: XML to HL7 ( Fatal Error )

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Xlate: XML to HL7 ( Fatal Error )

• Creator
    Topic
    Andre van Olden
    Participant

Receiving Fatal Error from an Xlate where I am trying to copy data from an XML element to an OBX segment.

The XML element does contain formatting characters ( line feeds etc.. ) and I need these for the formatted OBX.5.

If I remove these control characters, the error goes away, but I need the formatting to remain for the display of the OBX in the receiving system.

Tried compiling the .xsd with Formatting = ON with no success.  Any assistance would be appreciated.

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

Andre,

I am no XML expert by any means but isn’t there an escape mechanism in XML to escape control characters (like line feed) in the body of a data element?

Moreover, if the receiving system is truly parsing HL/7 properly, I would expect the system to choke on unescaped line feeds imbedded in the observation text as that signifies end of segment in HL/7.

email: jim.kosloskey@jim-kosloskey.com 29+ years Cloverleaf, 59 years IT - old fart.

Robert Kersemakers
      Participant

Hi Andre,

You will need to replace the line feeds coming from your XML with .br for your HL7 in order to save the formatting. As Jim said: a line feed in HL7 means the end of the segment and will give you errors.

There are only a few escape characters in XML:

<        <    less than >       >    greater than

&    &    ampersand

'    ‘     apostrophe

"    ”     quotation mark

Everything else in between start/end tag is considered data, so you can include line breaks etc.

Zuyderland Medisch Centrum; Heerlen/Sittard; The Netherlands

Rick Martin
      Participant

Hi Andre,

Long time no talk!  Are the embedded characters encoded in the XML like this: ?