Test files corrupting due to 7edit?

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Test files corrupting due to 7edit?

• Creator
    Topic
    Mike Klemens
    Participant

I am a newbie to cloverleaf so go easy on me!  ðŸ˜•

We run cloverleaf on an HP UX setup and sometimes FTP files back and forth from our windows machines.  Usually we edit these files using something like UltraEdit but have recently tried using a program called 7edit to modify test messages a bit easier.  However, if I modify a message in 7edit and then send it back to our Unix server and run it through the HL7 testing tool, it works but I see the following error:

ERROR: found some data without a newline, treating as a message anyway

Anyone ever run into this before? Any ideas how to fix it?

Thanks so much!

-Mike

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

Check to see if your editor is saving the data as a unix or windows file – that might cause an issue.

Welcome to Cloverleaf(R) and the clovertech forum.

You won’t be sorry you are working with Cloverleaf(R) or that you engaged this forum.

email: jim.kosloskey@jim-kosloskey.com 29+ years Cloverleaf, 59 years IT - old fart.

Mike Klemens
      Participant

Maybe this is a silly question but do you know what the default encoding is on a unix system – is it UTF-8?

The default encoding on the 7edit application is:

windows-1252 (Windows Latin-1)

It will let me change it to a lot of other standards (US-ASCII, ISO, UTF, etc..) but I am not sure which one is best for unix…

Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

I don’t think it is the encoding that is the issue (it might be) but rather the use of Carriage Returns and Line feeds by Windoze at the end of each line versus UNIX just using one of those (I walways have to look up which one UNIX uses).

In UltraEdit (which I use here), you can specify to save the file as a UNIX file.