Suppressing Segments

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Suppressing Segments

• Creator
    Topic
    Sandi Meyers
    Participant

I am fairly new to this and to this forum so have mercy on me if this question has been asked before or is fairly simple.

I am trying to build an xlate to suppress an OBX segment if the OBX 5 is null.  The inbound HL7 is 2.4 so the OBX is a ‘supposed’ nonrepeating segment within a repeating group, within a higher repeating group.

I built an iterate on the outside group, an iterate on the inside group, an IF statement on the inside iterate , if OBX5 is not null, and then a pathcopy.  It is suppressing the OBX5 field but allowing the rest of the segment.

Any ideas what I am doing wrong? 😕   😳

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Tom Rioux
      Participant

Are you using a bulkcopy in your xlate?  Do you have any other pathcopy’s for an OBX segment anywhere else in your xlate?  It sounds like your IF logic may be working out of sync with some other logic in your xlate.  Can you post some of your xlate?

Sandi Meyers
      Participant

Actually yes I am using a Bulkcopy.  The original xlate worked but the receiving system had problems with blank OBX 5 segments.  So I am using the original xlate and added the iterates at the top.

I am not sure if I added this correctly.  I am using the GUI versionof building an xlate so I copied the file.

Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

Sandi,

First of all there is no need to apologize.

We have all been exactly where you are at and this forum is here to help you matriculate.

If your PATHCOPY does not reference the segment as the target but rather a field in the segment, you will see only the field targetted removed and not the whole segment.

I think that is what you are experienceing (that is the segment is still there but one field is nulled).