Reading HL7 messages into Cloverleaf

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Reading HL7 messages into Cloverleaf

• Creator
    Topic
    Graham Hartley
    Participant

I am new to Cloverleaf and particularly HL7.  I am trying to work out what the special character is that separates the different message segments in a HL7 message and more specifically how to generate this using the keyboard.  I.e. in a QRY^A19 message you must place a special character between the MSH and QRY segment otherwise the message cannot be read in Cloverleaf.  I thought this was a carriage return but this doesn

Viewing 9 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

Graham,

To make sure of what is in the file I use a provided command line utility called hcihd.

I usually pipe the output of hcihd to less (unix).

This will give you a hex dump and you can verify that there is a x0d between segments.

If there is a x0d between segments and the file looks fine otherwise, what tool in Cloverleaf(R) are you using to read the file and what is it you are experiencing?

email: jim.kosloskey@jim-kosloskey.com

Graham Hartley
      Participant

Thank you very much for your response.  I have tried using the hcihd command and as you stated x0d does separate each segment.  What I would like to know then is how can I add this character to other HL7 messages?  I have been using notepad and getting my example messages from various HL7 documentation.  The problem is that when I copy them from the document the 0xd is not copied.  This results in an error when I try and send the message using the resend (New Line terminated) functionality in Network Monitor.  Once I have managed to get this to work I will do further testing using the application TCPIP Test.  Your help is much appreciated

Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

Graham,

I would suggest using an editor that allows editing in hex.