Converting DFT^P03 HL7 to flat file

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Converting DFT^P03 HL7 to flat file

• Creator
    Topic
    George Kulz
    Participant

Hi all

I’ve seen lots of talk about converting DFT^P03 HL7 types to flat files, but I’m still incredibly confused, and none of them seem to be exactly what I want anyway, even if I did understand what everyone is talking about.

What I have is a batch file with a bunch of DFT^P03 type records in it. So it looks like this:

FHS

BHS

MSH

PID (1)

FT1 (1)

PID (2)

FTI (2)

PID (n)

FT1 (n)

BTS

FTS

I want to flatten this into a file that contains one header line, which contains the info from the FHS or BHS segments, then one line for each PID/FT1 pair, then a trailer that contains info from the BTS/FTS segments.

I’m still very new to all of this, so I don’t understand how to use any of the other formats other than HL7, and the examples I’ve seen are confusing when talking about CONTINUEs and SUPPRESSs in the middle of the xlates. I can’t follow what’s going on. Also, none of the examples ever addresses the header and trailer info that I need. Can someone please explain this so that I can understand this? Thanks.

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Tim Jipson
      Participant

I had to do this same thing(or at least something similar) a while back and the only way I found to create a batch file was to do it outside of cloverleaf.

First, I’ve got a thread that saves one message per file then I use crontab to kick off the script below once an hour

#!/bin/bash
      #
      # Written by: Tim Jipson – Systems Integration Developer – NorDx Labs
      # Purpose: Cloverleaf outputs one hl7 record per .dat file. This script merges
      #
      [code]
      #!/bin/bash
      #
      # Written by: Tim Jipson – Systems Integration Developer – NorDx Labs
      # Purpose: Cloverleaf outputs one hl7 record per .dat file. This script merges
      #