To Process or Not to Process that is the limitations?

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf To Process or Not to Process that is the limitations?

• Creator
    Topic
    James Phetteplace
    Participant

So I am fairly new to Cloverleaf (1.5 years now) and this question comes up a lot. I searched on the forums before I posted this too but couldn’t really get a straight answer to my question (maybe there isn’t really a straight answer either). What are the limitations of a process? This seems more of a standard / preference than anything. I have heard all types of ideas of how to use processes in cloverleaf. Some from only have 6 process per site to 15 process per site. Or having 1 inbound thread per process and any amount of outbound as long as you stay under 16 threads for a process. Or having 1 process for inbound threads (splitting them up when there is a certain amount) and 1 process for outbound thread (splitting them up when there is a certain amount) that why you can control outbound messages from going out.

So I guess my question is, is there any documents of how to use processes in Cloverleaf? What is the standard rule for using processes per site? What is the standard rule for the amount of threads per process?

Any help would be greatly appreciated, sorry if this question is on the forums (I couldn’t find it).

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
    Replies
      Robert Milfajt
      Participant

My experiences are this, all AIX using several Cloverleaf versions 3.3.0P through 6.0.1.

1.  It seems to be more volume and processing related vs. actual numbers of processes per side, or number of threads per process.

2.  There is a limitation (I know, I’ve seen it), where if you have too many threads/processes in a site, that the monitord doesn’t report the the GUI, showing things in incorrrect status or not allowing commands to be run.

Things to watch out for.