Noobie Questions

• Creator
    Topic
    Dennis Shirk
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I am new to Cloverleaf and HL7 in general. I just setup a test Cloverleaf server at my facility. I am going to the first training class in May. Please be patient with me if my questions are basic. I am trying to setup a test receive port so that I can receive messages from our current biztalk server.  I know little about biztalk as well. I am attaching a word doc with screenshots of what I have done so far. Can you guys take a look and let me know if I missed anything. I am not receiving messages from biztalk. I am just trying to get these messages in so I can start learning before class. This connection will be my first thing I have to learn. Any help is greatly appreciated. 🙂

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

Dennis,

The first thing I do when trying to conect to a new TCP/IP interface is to use hcitcptest a command line utility for testing TCP/IP connections.

Ther are switches for hcitcptest that let you define if you wnat to act as a client or host, the port, the eencoding scheme.

If you just enter hcitcptest it will tell you the switches.

If you want to act like a server (sounds like you do) then don’t enter the host ID.

You can see if you get connected; see a message if it is sent; and optionally enter a reply to the message.

If you cannot connect with hcitcptest, you will just chase your tail in Cloverleaf(R).

Some observations:

The ‘Opening’ means Cloverfleaf(R) is listening. Apparently TrashTalk er BizTalk is trying to connect.

We have minimal expericence with TrashTalk (oops there I go again – I mean BizTalk) and it does not appear to play well with other children. In our case we discovered it attempted to open a new connection with each message. It appears to me BizTalk is written assuming a Web environment. So good luck being satisfied with BizTalk.