Help with a table

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Help with a table

• Creator
    Topic
    sandy sothman
    Participant

Hello all,

I am a newbie to Cloverleaf and am working on sending transcribed reports to an other vendor.  OBR21 gives me the short name of the report, I am running that through a table to give me the long name of the report.

My problem is, I have several departments who use the same or some variance of the same short name for their reports (as below).

PRO               ONCOLOGY PROCEDURE

PRO               PROCEDURE REPORT

PROC       COSMETIC SURGERY PROCEDURE

PROC       PROCEDURE NOTE

PROCEDURE ANESTHESIOLOGY PROCEDURE

PROCEDURE PROCEDURE

PROCNOTE DERMATOLOGY PROCEDURE NOTE

PROCNOTE PULMONARY PROCEDURE NOTE

For each of these short names, I want to replace with “Procedure Note”, however the table won’t let me enter the same values on the right hand side.  Is there a way to either use a wildcard on the left side, or make the table allow the same value in multiple fields?

Thank you!

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      James Cobane
      Participant

Sandy,

With tables, input values must be unique (or if the table is bi-directional, both input and output values must be unique).  You’ll need to get a bit trickier and perhaps concatenate some other value (i.e. perhaps a dept code) along with the short-name if you wish to have unique values; i.e.

Input                       Output

ONCPRO                  Oncology Procedure Note

PRO                         Procedure Note

ANESPROCEDURE     Anesthesiology Procedure

PROCEDURE             Procedure

…and so on.

You can have duplicate output values as long as the table is not defined as bi-directional, so if you want to normalize a bunch of different ‘short names’ to a standard long description, that shouldn’t be a problem.

Hope this helps.

Jim Cobane

Henry Ford Health

Elizabeth Wilson
      Participant