Hard code segments

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Hard code segments

• Creator
    Topic
    Andres Alvarez
    Participant

What is the best way to hard code segments into HL7 using cloverleaf?

I have a scenario where I need to hard code a starting segment before the MSH and an end segments after the message is complete. There is no manipulation going in those segments, but they are required to be there.

I am accomplishing this in our main engine, but I got to thinking how this could be done in cloverleaf and did not know where to start or if it was even possible without tcl scripting.

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Jerry Hendrickson
      Participant

Hi Andres.  I am fairly new to cloverleaf, but I think I have an idea for you.  You should be able to create a variant with a user defined segment preceding the MSH (I just did one to test it out), and one or more other user defined segments at the end, or wherever else you need them.  You could than copy the values you need into the fields in those segments in the translation, along with the real data you wish to pass.  Jerry.

Jim Kosloskey
      Participant

Unfortunately the variant definition allows you to define it but the Xlate does not allow you to use that variant definition.

In the Xlate, each HL/7 message has to start with an MSH.

I think Tcl is in order.

Now I believe you can place multiple MSH segments in a variant (as long as there is one as the first) then use simpler Tcl to remove the first MSH in something like the Outbound TPS.

So variant would look like this:

MSH <– Bogus MSH

XXX <- your segment

MSH <– real MSH

YYY <– your ending segment

In the Outbound TPS with Tcl remove the first MSH – now your message will look like this:

XXX <- your segment

MSH <– real MSH

Or you can write a little more  complex proc to add the segments you want.

email: jim.kosloskey@jim-kosloskey.com 29+ years Cloverleaf, 59 years IT - old fart.