Access encrypted smatdb files…

Homepage Clovertech Forums Read Only Archives Cloverleaf Cloverleaf Access encrypted smatdb files…

• Creator
    Topic
    Tom Rioux
    Participant

All,

I am writing some tcl code to generate a report.   For the report, I need access to an active smatdb file.    I do not want to cycle the smat file so I am copying it to an archive directory.   When I attempt to access the file, it is giving me the following error:

file is encrypted or is not a database

My code is attempting to access the copied smatdb file and unencrypt it.   Can someone point me to where I’m going wrong?  I’m a relative newbie at SQLite stuff, so please be gentle!  Below is my code:

DBCMD eval {PRAGMA KEY=’$site’;

ATTACH DATABASE $decryptsmatdb AS plaintext KEY ”;

SELECT sqlcipher_export(“plaintext”);

DETACH DATABASE $decryptsmatdb | sqlcipher $SMATCHGdb }

Thanks….

Tom Rioux

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      bill bearden
      Participant

Hi Tom,

I would be curious to see the rest of your code. I am assuming you are doing a sqlite command to create the DBCMD command. I am also assuming there is code to set $site and $decryptsmatdb. That code isn’t included.

But the first thing I wonder about is if variable substitution is happening since you’ve surrounded your database commands in curly braces. You might try the same thing with a series of DBCMD eval commands, one for each separate database command. Also, try enclosing each command in double quotes instead of the curly braces. So, something like…

DBCMD eval “PRAGMA KEY=’$site'”

Good luck.

Bill

Tom Rioux
      Participant

Thanks for the reply Bill.  I’ve posted the code below.   I’ve attempted just about everything you have mentioned.   I’ve been working with Max Drown of Infor and Glen Goldsmith of Christus.   They have given me lots of good advice.   I’ve also tried from the command line but still get the encryption error.

Just some insight into my code.